What’s happening to Kenya’s first generation born HIV-positive?

On May 30, 2012 I posted an article under the title ‘What’s happening to Kenya’s first generation born HIV-positive? As Kenya observes 2015 World AIDS Day today this question remains as relevant as when it was put up.

To what extent are the issues facing that generation better defined and addressed today? Among the challenges earlier mentioned were the following: Emotional problems- especially coping with the late discovery that they are HIV positive; their care considering many of them are orphaned; fear of stigma which may interfere with their adherence to drugs, etc, etc.

Society forces me to live two lives, one of which – the one where I’m honest about my status – I have to keep completely secret from the other one. It’s partly because I have to live this life of shame and secrecy that I find it so hard to take my meds….I’m angry about the stigma in society that makes me have to lie about my status”.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

